Tired of Your Username? Change It!

October

22, 2013

by Chirag Medhora


Archive

OldUserNameROBLOX has been growing quickly for upwards of six years. In that time, many members of our community have grown along with us — so much so that some builders no longer feel their username accurately represents who they are on ROBLOX, and what they represent. Rather than require those of you in this situation to start fresh with an empty account, we’ve decided to launch a new feature: the ability to change your username.

Each username change costs 1,000 ROBUX. In order to make it happen, click on the Account link in the navigation bar. You’ll notice a large green button next to your username that says “Change My Username”. Clicking that button will launch a pop-up window guiding you through the process.To make the swap, type in your desired username and confirm your identity by entering your password. The menu will not let you go any further if your desired username is already taken. Once you’re ready, hit the “Buy for R1,000” button, and you’ll receive a confirmation that you’ve successfully purchased the name, exactly as it’s spelled, that you desire.

ChangeUserName

Just about everything will carry over to your new account name, including your inventory of items, the places and games you’ve made, and your friends list. Your account creation date will remain the same, as well, so don’t worry that changing your username will change your status as a ROBLOX veteran.

There are a couple minor caveats that we should mention. All forum posts (and forum post counts) will remain, but they will continue to appear under your previous username. New forum posts will show up with your new username. The forum post count will carry over to your new name, but your actual past posts will appear under your previous name. What’s more, people will soon (within a few days) be able to search for and find you by searching for your old username. That’s because your old username will remain locked, in case you ever want to revert back–though reverting to a previous username will still cost you 1,000 ROBUX. On your Profile page, people will see your new username and all of your prior usernames.

There is currently a bug that prevents you from making forum posts for 24 hours after making a username change. This is a temporary problem that will be addressed very soon.

We tried to do this in a way that is as flexible as possible, while also making it easy and affordable to take the name you’ve always wanted. But because you may want to revert back, you will always be tied, at least loosely, to your original ROBLOX name.

We hope you like this feature — and can use it to keep your ROBLOX account an appropriate reflection of your persona over your years of gaming, building and developing.